Names (redux)*

I come from a family in which the three women have two names and the two men each have a single, short name. (Insert the ubiquitous  “You must be Catholic” quip here.)

The double names of my mother and sister roll off the tongue; mine is full of consonants and seems to flummox most casual acquaintances on our first meeting. But I persist in claiming the whole thing because I am not a “Mary.”

“Do you go by Mary or by the whole thing?” people ask optimistically. This usually occurs in a doctor’s or dentist’s waiting room–bless them for even asking.

“The whole thing,” I reply. I can almost see the inward sigh under the professional exterior. If I like the person, I’ll add, “Or you can call me ‘MC’ if it’s easier.”

I’ll let you guess what ubiquitous quip often follows that.

 

****************************************************************

*I was inspired to write this after reading an essay called Names on the new blog The Five Hundreds.

*****************************************************************

Please ignore any advertisements you may see on this site.

4 Comments

Filed under Imprint, Uncategorized

4 responses to “Names (redux)*

  1. wcdameron

    MC as in hammer? 🙂 This was such a delightful quick read.

  2. I fear I didn’t wait to be invited to call you MC, but there’s nothing like a rifle of consonants to get me running to the Abbreviator’s Office. Enjoyed this, and enjoyed and bookmarked the Five Hundred Words blog, too.

  3. You definitely didn’t need to be invited, Matt. 🙂 After all, you went for the “MC” rather than the “Mary,” which means automatic membership in the Abbreviations Club.

Leave a Reply

